Writers Happiness Movement & Thriving as a Writer! w/ Lori Snyder

April 22, 2022
Hosted by Diane Dewey

[Download MP3] [itunes] [Bookmark Episode]

Guest Information

Episode Description

The Writers Happiness Movement is based on two unwavering beliefs: 1) Kindness, inclusion, and joy matter. 2) The written word is one of the most powerful ways to promote courage, empathy, and ferocity of the heart. The goal of the movement is to create more happiness for every writer while making the world a better place for all writers. Everything we offer is here to help you access more joy, more writing time, and more spaciousness for and around your writing and life. This includes free online writers’ retreats, free online yoga for writers, and micro-grants for writers, as well as a long-term vision of adding in large-scale programs such as bigger grants, residencies, and retirement homes for writers completely funded by the Writers Happiness Movement. This is all funded through an alternative economic structure rooted in kindness and inclusion, an economic sructure that is part of our little corner of how we change the world. The Writers Happiness Movement is meant to be both a revolution and a refuge. There’s nothing you have to do to be part of it, other than be who you are and write what you write. Whether you’ve been writing for decades, are just starting to think you might like to write, or are somewhere in between, the Writers Happiness Movement is here to remind you how important what you do actually is. Breathe. Write. Love. We’ve got your back. Writers Happiness Movement founder Lori R. Snyder is the author of The Circus at the End of the Sea Published by HarperCollins Publishers Available Hardcover, Audiobook, eBook A vibrant and enchanting debut novel about a lonely girl who discovers a magical street circus, perfect for fans of Kelly Barnhill and Rebecca Stead! Maddy Adriana knows that magic is real. All her life, her heart has pulled her towards things too perfect to be ordinary—not to mention her mysterious silver bracelet that never comes off. One day, the tug of her heart leads her to Il Circo delle Strade, the magical street circus hidden in plain sight among the canals and boardwalks of Venice Beach, California...and for the first time in her life, Maddy feels like she might belong. But the circus is in grave danger, and it seems only Maddy can help. Her journey will take her to the end of the sea, where she will have to confront the frightening side of magic as well as her own deepest fears if she is to save the place she hopes to call home. This unforgettable debut shows readers the magic of following your heart and finding where you belong. Lori will Drop In with us to talk about the two worlds of writing, all the myriad aspects of writer's support -- and the why's & how's of Happiness is a key component to writing well. Join us!

Dropping In

Friday at 8 AM Pacific Time on VoiceAmerica Variety Channel

Drop in to the dream of becoming an author. How does the book publishing business actually work? If you’re ready to tell your story, what’s the best way to do it? Do you need help crafting this tale? What about workshopping – is that helpful? When are you ready to show your work to a developmental or copy editor? The time may be now. If you’ve finished your manuscript, what are the next steps? Place your book in the context of the marketplace and decide, who is your audience? What’s the best platform to publish your work? Podcast, electronic or paper bound book? Are you well-versed in developing your book proposal? That means having your agent pitch down. Once you’ve secured an agent, what’s the optimal venue to get your book published, with all the support it needs to be seen and heard in media outlets? Whether through traditional, hybrid, indie presses, or a combination, we’ll bring you the experts in the fields of book coaching, agenting, editing, legal advice, publishing, and publicists, plus resources on the craft of writing. No matter what route you take, your best bet is to get educated. Drop in to how stories are made. In the end, we’ll all become stories. —Margaret Atwood

  • Snag
  • Bookmark and Share

Diane Dewey

My most pressing question has always been about identity: Who am I? Growing up near Philadelphia with my adoptive family, my genetic identity was hidden. Then, my Swiss biological father, Otto, contacted me when I was age forty-seven in 2002. I’d been told by my adoptive parents that my biological parents were dead, supposedly to protect me. Meeting Otto upended my life. Through him, I met my German biological mother’s family to discover that her story too, had been changed; that she’d not wanted to surrender me and she’d searched for me all her life. Finding my truth was essential.

Based on my experience I am excited to talk to people about their own search for identity. My education includes a BA from Villanova University, a certificate from the Art Institute of Philadelphia and a Master of Science in Mental Health Counseling from Capella University. I’ve worked for The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, The SoHo Partnership and the National Academy of Design and have studied writing through New York University’s Continuing Education program. As an entrepreneur, I founded my art appraisal business, The Realization of Art in 2006. My non-fiction writing has been published in Shared Space, a monograph, and in Artes online magazine. Writing workshops worldwide have given me the chance to learn and hone my craft. My first book, “Fixing the Fates,” was awarded the National Non-Fiction Author’s Association Silver Medal and the Living Now Award.

  • Snag
  • Bookmark and Share

Episode Directory

May 2022

April 2022

  • 4/29/2022: NaNoWriMo! The Writing Motivation You Seek with Letitia Jones Listen Now
  • 4/22/2022: Writers Happiness Movement & Thriving as a Writer! w/ Lori Snyder Listen Now
  • 4/15/2022: Messenger: When the Messages Can't Wait! w/ Liz Keller Whitehurst Listen Now
  • 4/8/2022: What's a Hybrid Publisher & How Can I Be Published? W/Lauren Wise Listen Now
  • 4/1/2022: Pesticide: How One Woman Solved a Mystery for a Cause w/ Kim Hays Listen Now

March 2022

This site is protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program