Anders Fogh  Rasmussen

Anders Fogh Rasmussen

Anders Fogh Rasmussen is a Danish politician who served as the Prime Minister of Denmark and Secretary General of NATO. Previous to these positions, Rasmussen served as the Minister of Taxation and Minister of Economic Affairs. As Minister for Economic Affairs and a member of the EU’s ECOFIN-council 1990-1992, Rasmussen was the Danish negotiator of and signatory to the Maastricht Treaty, which eventually led to the introduction of the Euro. Rasmussen also held the rotating presidency of the European Union in 2002, proving his dedication and support of a pro-EU agenda and the guiding principles of the Ellemann-Jenson doctrine. A leading Danish Parliamentarian, Rasmussen advocated “stronger ties between the world’s democracies, including a ‘truly Integrated Transatlantic Community’, a Transatlantic Free Trade Agreement between the EU and North America, and a global community of democracies.”